Colleges & Universities

Loras College
(founded 1839)

1450 Alta Vista, PO Box 178, Dubuque 52004-0178 563-588-7100 • 563-588-7964 (FAX)

Loras College was founded in 1839, by Bishop Mathias Loras and is Iowa’s first college. It is one of nine diocesan colleges in the United States. It is located on the bluffs of the Mississippi River and overlooks the states of Wisconsin, Illinois, and Iowa. Loras offers over 40 majors and 13 pre-professional programs.

Accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Students: 1,540; Religious teaching faculty: 2; Lay teachers: 103 full-time, 37 average number of adjuncts per semester

President: James E. Collins

Executive Assistant to the President: Heather Jungblut

Vice President for Academic Affairs: Dr. Donna Heald

Vice President for Advancement/Treasurer: Michael H. Doyle

Dean of Campus Spiritual Life: Rev. William M. Joensen [email_arch]DBQLCJOENSEN[/email_arch]

Chaplain: Rev. Andrew D. Marr [email_arch]DBQMARR[/email_arch]

Director of Spiritual Life/Peace & Justice: Anastacia McDermott

Vice-President for Student Development/Dean of Students: Arthur W. Sunleaf, Ph.D.


Rev. William M. Joensen (563-588-7463) [email_arch]DBQLCJOENSEN[/email_arch]
Rev. Andrew D. Marr (563-588-7108) [email_arch] DBQMARR[/email_arch]
Rev. Douglas O. Wathier (563-588-7013) [email_arch] DBQLCWATHIER[/email_arch]


Clarke University
(founded 1843)
1550 Clarke Dr., Dubuque 52001-3198 563-588-6300 • 563-588-6789 (fax)

Catholic, coeducational, liberal arts university offering more than 28 undergraduate and 11 pre-professional programs, and seven graduate programs.

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association.

Students: 1,039; Religious teaching faculty: 2; Full-time lay faculty: 84

President: Sr. Joanne Burrows, SC, Ph.D.

Executive Assistant to the President: Kathy Teig

Vice-President for Academic Affairs: Susan Burns, Ph.D.

Vice-President for Business and Finance: Daisy Halvorson, Ph.D.

Vice-President for Institutional Advancement: Bill Biebuyck

Vice-President for Enrollment Management: TBD

Vice-President for Student Life: Kate Zanger

Director of Admissions: Jolene Christensen

Registrar: Kristi Bagstad

Chaplain: Rev. Andrew D. Marr [email_arch]DBQMARR [/email_arch]
Director of Campus Ministry: Hunter Darrouzet [email_arch]DBQCUCM [/email_arch]


Mount Mercy University

(founded 1928)
1330 Elmhurst Dr. NE, Cedar Rapids 52402 319-363-8213

Founded by the Sisters of Mercy, and sponsored by the Institute of the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas, Mount Mercy University’s liberal arts curriculum guides students in exploring and working towards a more just, equal, and peaceful world.

A co-educational university offering more than 45 undergraduate programs, nine pre-professional programs, six master’s programs, and two doctoral programs, MMU offers courses on campus and online – in traditional formats as well as an accelerated format
tailored to working adults.

Mount Mercy is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.
Students: 1,848; Full-time faculty: 84
President: Laurie Hamen, J.D.
Assistant to the President: Kim Blankenheim
Provost: Tim Laurent, Ed.D.
Vice-President for Enrollment & Marketing: Terri Snyders Crumley, D.M.A.
Interim Vice-President for Business & Finance: Larry Elkins
Vice-President for Development & Alumni Relations: Brenda Haefner
Vice-President for Mission & Ministry: Sr. Linda Bechen, RSM
Chaplain: Rev. Anthony Adawu [email_arch]DBQMMUCHAP[/email_arch]


St. Stephen the Witness Student Center (University of Northern Iowa)

1019 W. 23rd St., Cedar Falls, Iowa 50613-3550
Tel. 319-266-9863; Fax 319-266-3706.

Director of Campus Ministry/Sacramental Priest: Rev. Jon M. Seda, Email [email_arch]DBQ303SP[/email_arch]

Permanent Deacon, Dr. Leonard Froyen, Email [email_arch]DBQ303D[/email_arch]

Director of Campus Ministry: Dr. Biff Rocha[email_arch]DBQ303S3[/email_arch]

Campus Minister:  Joshua Winters, [email_arch]DBQ303CM2[/email_arch]

Director of Liturgy and Music: Clare Hanson, Email [email_arch]DBQ303S[/email_arch]

Bookkeeper: Carol Jacobi [email_arch]DBQ303BM[/email_arch]

Secretary, Molly Scullin, Email [email_arch]DBQ303SEC[/email_arch]


St. Thomas Aquinas Parish and Catholic Student Center (Iowa State University)
2210 Lincoln Way, Ames , Iowa 50014-7184. Tel. 515-292-3810. Fax. 515-292-3841. Website:

Pastor: Rev. Kyle M. Digmann [email_arch]DBQ004[/email_arch]

Business Manager: Bobby LeBlanc [email_arch] DBQ004BM[/email_arch]

Director of Campus Ministry/Liturgy Director: Shari Reilly

Campus Minister & Director of Music: Eric Evans

RCIA Coordinator/Marriage Preparation: Brenda Neppel

Director of Evangelization: Joe Weyers [email_arch] DBQ004FF[/email_arch]

Coordinator of Ministries: Tom Budnik

Coordinator of Faith Formation: Jen Weyers

Youth Ministry: Anna Steele [email_arch]DBQ003YM[/email_arch]

Director of Development: Joe Leisz

Financial Secretary: Annette Larson [email_arch] DBQ004BK[/email_arch]

Secretary: Don Alexander [email_arch]DBQ004SEC[/email_arch]